Design Thinking Drives Public Service Innovations - Redesign Shanghai Library Innovation Space
Speaker
  • Sheng-Hung Lee Sheng-Hung Lee IDEO / Shanghai Institute of Visual Art Designer / Professor

    Sheng-Hung Lee is a designer, maker and educator. He is inspired by multiple domains of knowledge, different perspectives, and he thrives on creating new value for clients in multi-disciplinary teams. He is trained as an industrial designer and electrical engineer, and his approach to problem solving is influenced by his passion for how design and technology impact on and can be integrated into society. He has collaborated with IDSA (Industrial Designers Society of America) to inform their their strategy, service and user experience for the Asia market, this work was recently been published in the book . Sheng-Hung has been focusing on organization design that creates systemic impact. He was invited to be a jury for multiple international design competition including IDEA, Spark Design Award, IDA Award and A’ Design Award and Competition.

    Sheng-Hung graduated with a double Bachelor’s degree (Hon.) in Industrial Design and Electrical Engineering from National Cheng Kung University (NCKU), Taiwan. His work has won prestigious awards including IDEA Gold, Braun Prize, Core77 Design Award, Red Dot (Best of the Best), Spark Design Award, European Product Design Award (Gold) and iF Award. In his spare time, Sheng-Hung teaches product design at Shanghai Institute of Visual Art and Detao Masters Academy.

Design Thinking Drives Public Service Innovations - Redesign Shanghai Library Innovation Space

3796Thumbs Up
Session G6
Meeting room 405
Time 07/21 14:30-17:30
Type Workshop
Language Mandarin
Direction Service Design
keynote content
Content Introduction

Innovation Space has been open to the public for more than four years since May 2013. In the past few years of operation, the Reader Service Center of Shanghai Library has always listened to users' voices, adjusted the document configuration, added software varieties and improved activity contents according to users' requirements. At the same time, it hopes to obtain feedback from readers' experience in the use of space, which is a good case for users to participate in the transformation and application of library space. Li Shenghong uses Innovation Space to teach the design course of Shanghai Institute of Visual Art (SIVA), IDEO's online tools " designed for the library" have accumulated a lot of acquisitions of overall planning and design of innovative public spaces in three years. Innovation Space, with its design strength, has carried out some preliminary research and service design research, and finally hopes that it can be reflected in the space and service design, and can be used as a reference for the future construction of new library spaces and other public services.

In this workshop, the keynote speaker will deeply interpret the design cases of Innovation Space in Shanghai Library, and analyze how the team uses the method of design thinking to solve problems, including redefining key issues together from the perspective of users and librarians, brainstorming, user interviews, finding inspiration points globally and locally, analyzing analogy cases and understanding the real challenges. The design process of the team proceeds from understanding people's needs advocated by IDEO, takes into account the sustainability of business and the feasibility of technology, and covers five major parts:
1. User research
The internal investigation of the team is to have a clearer and deeper understanding of Innovation Space, covering team capabilities, organizational structure, brand value proposals and strategies, operation mode of Shanghai Library and some pain points shared by librarians. With respect to the investigation forms internally understood include one-on-one librarian interviews, actual visits to Innovation Space and all references and literatures provided by the team of Innovation Space. Meanwhile, it carries out external investigation so as to have a clearer, more comprehensive and in-depth understanding of users and readers.
2. Idea thinking
After listening to the vivid stories of ten interviewees, discuss the contents acquired in the interviews together from the angles of users and librarians, and help to extract some main investigation insights from the interviews. The results will affect the following design proposition directions, including interior furniture design, spatial planning, user map depiction and so on. By different ways such as visualization and analogy, outline the main nodes in the situations, and help us to think about users' experience processes.
3. Role setting
In Shanghai Library, whether librarians, users or readers, people are the most precious assets. In many cases, people have to play many different roles, and sometimes one person even needs to play multiple roles to overcome challenges and difficulties. For the future role setting of Innovation Space in Shanghai Library, it is more necessary to integrate the existing job designs. In order to provide better user experiences, enhance the sense of mission and centripetal force of librarians and realize the original intention of setting Innovation Space, three roles have been set up to achieve these goals: vision spreader, knowledge spreader and assistant facilitator. The most important thing is that the three roles need to work together and cooperate closely. Only in this way is it possible to show the overall service design and fully demonstrate the purpose and platform value of Innovation Space of Shanghai Library.
4. Tool design
In the Innovation Space of Shanghai Library, whether it is a digital tool or an entity assistant tool, the purpose of these tools is to ensure that users can keep friendly, consistent and pleasant experiences in different experience points and scenes. The communication degree indicators in tool design include private, semi-private and public states, but the core value and purpose of tool design are still to serve users so as to improve users’ learning experiences.
5. Scene navigation
Scene design is a way to fully understand users' journey. Scene design requires designers to really look at things from the user's perspective so as to experience the user's feelings and understand the user's needs and desires. Scene design can vividly depict people's stories, interpret people's behaviors, observe people's communication or show people's interactive ways. Designers can summarize the case through the link of scene navigation and answer the question of our initial challenge, " how can we redesign the user experience of Innovation Space in Shanghai Library?".

Structure and Agenda

1. Problem establishment - parsing and posing new design challenges
2. Hands-on thinking - modeling thinking, learning in doing, doing while learning
3. Story sharing - group sharing and practicing storytelling skills

Target Audience

1. Creative group - related workers engaged in innovation, creativity and design.
2. Public sector - management and innovation, creativity related departments of government units.
3. Student group - students studying in the departments of design and innovation

Participants Benefit

1. Social level - what are social innovations and experience designs? Designers should have positive social influence through creativity and innovation.
2. System level - understand the systematic challenges and solutions in traditional industries and industrial transformation
3. Personal level - the next step for designers and the correct attitude they should have in the face of the future world

video introduction
《设计思维驱动公共服务创新——以上海图书馆创 · 新空间为例》工作坊介绍
Work Case
Guess You Like
  • 工作坊 Jin HuajingAlipay,Senior UX Expert
  • 主旨演讲
  • 112
  • 212
  • 312
  • 412
  • 512
  • 612
  • 712
  • 812
  • 912
  • 1012
  • 1112
  • 1212
联系客服 查看报道 立即申请 立即申请
官方公众号×
添加IXDC官方微信,可以直接在线沟通 公众号ID:ixdcorg

长按识别二维码添加微信公众号

复制公众号ID长按二维码保存图片

设计思维驱动公共服务创新——以人为本的公共空间的服务设计
主讲人
  • 李盛弘 李盛弘 IDEO 设计师

    李盛弘是一名来自IDEO上海的设计师、上海视觉艺术学院副教授 、也是一名创客。擅长从各种领域汲取丰富的灵感和视角,开展跨专业团队协作,共同为客户开创新的价值。李盛弘的背景是工业设计和电机工程,他热衷于研究设计及技术的实践运用,及其带来的社会影响力。近来,李盛弘还与美国工业师协会(IDSA)合作打造IDSA在亚洲市场的战略、服务和用户体验,并牵头把初步合作框架编制成了他近期出版的《IDSA亚洲蓝图》一书,为企业和社会创造系统影响力。

设计思维驱动公共服务创新——以人为本的公共空间的服务设计

2266人点赞
场次 G6
会议室 405
时间 07/21 14:30-17:30
内容形式 工作坊
语言 中文
类别 服务设计
主讲内容
内容介绍

创 · 新空间自2013年5月对外开放,已四年有余。在运营的这几年中,上海图书馆读者服务中心始终倾听用户的声音,从用户的需求出发调整文献配置,增设软件品种,改进活动内容。同时,希望能从读者角度对空间的使用体验得到反馈,成为用户参与图书馆空间改造、应用的一个很好的案例。李盛弘使用创 · 新空间教授上海视觉艺术学院(SIVA)的设计课程,IDEO的“为图书馆而设计”的线上工具,在三年的时间积累了许多对于创新公共空间整体的规划设计的习得。创 · 新空间藉由他设计的力量,开展一些初步的调研与服务设计研究,最终希望能体现在空间与服务设计上,并能作为未来建设图书馆新空间甚至其他公共服务时的借鉴。

在此次工作坊中,主讲人将深度解读上海图书馆创 · 新空间的设计案例,解析团队是如何运用设计思维的方法来解决问题,包括藉由用户与馆员的视角,一同重新定义关键问题,进行头脑风暴,使用者访谈,找寻全球与本土的灵感启发点,类比案例解析,了解真正的挑战。团队的设计流程以IDEO倡导的从了解人的需求出发,同时兼顾商业的永续性和技术的可行性为基础,涵盖了五大部分:

1. 用户调研
对团队进行内部调研是希望对创·新空间有更清晰且深入的了解,涵盖了团队能力、组织架构、品牌价值主张与策略、上海图书馆的运营模式以及一些馆员所分享的痛点。针对内部了解的调研形式包含了一对一的馆员访谈、创·新空间的实际走访和一切创·新空间团队所提供的参考资料与文献。同时进行外部调研,借此希望能对于用户与读者们有更清晰、全面且深入的了解。

2. 点子发想
倾听十位受访者生动的故事后,分别从用户与馆员的角度,一同讨论在访谈中所习得的内容并帮助从访谈中提炼出一些主要的调研洞察,其结果会影响后续的设计命题方向,包含:室内家具设计、空间规划、用户地图描绘等等。通过视觉化、类比例子等不同方式,勾勒出情景中的主要节点,帮助我们思考使用者的体验流程。

3. 角色设定
在上海图书馆,无论是馆员还是用户、读者,人是最珍贵的资产。许多时候人们要扮演许多不同的角色,甚至有时候需要一人扮演多重角色去攻克挑战、困难。对于上海图书馆创 · 新空间的未来角色设定来说,更多的是需要整合现有的岗位设计。为了提供更好的用户体验,增强馆员的使命感与向心力,实现创新空间的设立初衷,为了达成这些目的而设立了三个角色:愿景散布者、知识传播者、协助催化者。最重要的是需要三个角色的同心协力,紧密合作。也唯有如此才能将整体的服务设计体现出来,也才能将上海图书馆创 · 新空间的宗旨与平台价值充分展现出来。

4. 工具设计
在上海图书馆创 · 新空间内,无论是数字化工具或是实体辅助工具,这些工具的设计目的都是为了能让在不同的体验点及不同场景下,确保用户能保有友好、连贯且愉悦的使用体验。工具设计中交流程度指标包含有私密的、半私密的以及公开的三种状态,但是工具设计的核心价值与目的仍然在服务使用者,以便提升更好的用户学习体验。

5. 场景导览
场景设计是一种全面了解用户旅程的方式。场景设计要求设计师真正将自己放在用户的角度上看待事物,从而体验用户的感受,了解用户的需求与渴望。场景设计可以是生动地描绘人们的故事,解读人们的行为,观察人们的交流,或展现人们的互动方式。设计师可以通过场景导览的环节,为案子做一个总结,回答我们最开始的挑战“我们如何重新设计上海图书馆 创 · 新空间的用户体验?"。

环节安排

1、问题确立——解析并且架构新的设计挑战
2、动手思考——建模思考,做中学、学中做
3、故事分享——团体分享并练习说故事技巧

目标听众

1、创意群体——从事与创新、创意、设计相关工作者
2、公共部门——政府单位管理与创新、创意相关部门
3、学生族群——就读与设计、创新相关科系在校学生

参会获益

1、社会层面——何谓社会创新、体验设计?设计师应该透过创意、创新发挥的正面社会影响力 
2、系统层面——了解传统行业、产业转型中所遭遇的系统性挑战与因应之道 
3、个人层面——面对未来的世界,设计师的下一步与应该具备的正确心态

视频介绍
《设计思维驱动公共服务创新——以上海图书馆创 · 新空间为例》工作坊介绍
作品案例
  • Scenario - Make yourself at home
  • Space Layout Configuration
  • Scenario Design
  • Furniture Design
  • Zone Design
  • Tool and Role Design
  • User Journey
  • Research Insight
  • Looking Out - Interview with Consumer
  • Looking In - Interview with Librarian
  • Design Intent and Method
  • Scenario - Friends making and storytelling
猜你喜欢
  • Scenario - Make yourself at home 112
  • Space Layout Configuration 212
  • Scenario Design 312
  • Furniture Design 412
  • Zone Design 512
  • Tool and Role Design 612
  • User Journey 712
  • Research Insight 812
  • Looking Out - Interview with Consumer 912
  • Looking In - Interview with Librarian 1012
  • Design Intent and Method 1112
  • Scenario - Friends making and storytelling 1212
联系客服 立即参会 立即申请 立即申请
官方公众号×
添加IXDC官方微信,可以直接在线沟通 公众号ID:ixdcorg

长按识别二维码添加微信公众号

复制公众号ID长按二维码保存图片